Robert Keenan Winery
Toward the end of the 19th century, Peter Conradi planted 100 acres of terraced vineyard near the top of Spring Mountain, and a winery was built there in 1904. The operation was forced to close by Prohibition, and the vineyards and winery fell out of use. In 1974, when Robert Keenan purchased 180 acres of forest on the site of the defunct Conradi Winery, no vines remained. Only crumbling walls and a few old tanks told its history. Yet Robert was certain that the mountain top vineyards would again be a perfect spot for an estate winery.
He started by replacing tree stumps and rocks with rows of Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot, and hired an engineer to design a small winery using the original stone building. The beautiful two story structure set into the hillside was completed just in time for harvest in 1977.
The winery has changed only slightly over the past decades. New stainless steel tanks and 60 gallon oak barrels now fill the cellar, and a charming antique-filled tasting room is positioned above, allowing our guests to observe the working wine cellar and smell the tantalizing scents of freshly crushed fruit or aging wines in season.
Our first, intensely flavored hillside grapes were originally used for the big “monster” wines that were so popular in the late 1970’s, but the winery has now moved toward a more elegant style by carefully managing flavors for richness and complexity. We produce nearly 10,000 cases per year. In addition to Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot, Keenan also offers seasonal releases of Zinfandel, Syrah, Cabernet Franc and a proprietary red blend called Mernet.